Kaya Reviews: Wolf by Wolf

Wolf by Wolf was the first book I read in March and I believe it is the book that has pulled me out of my horrible reading slump. I loved Wolf by Wolf, it was original and stunning. I cannot wait to get my hands on the second book ASAP.

Synopsis

Her story begins on a train.

 

The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule. To commemorate their Great Victory, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s Ball in Tokyo.

 

Yael, a former death camp prisoner, has witnessed too much suffering, and the five wolves tattooed on her arm are a constant reminder of the loved ones she lost. The resistance has given Yael one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female racer, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move.

 

But as Yael grows closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

 

My Review

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 out of 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars

First of, let me say that this is one of the best books I’ve read in awhile. I loved the how original the plot of Wolf by Wolf was. It was a refreshing change from some of the novels I have read recently. Ryan Graudin’s plot is incredible.

I loved Yael’s character throughout the novel. I love how Yael has developed throughout the novel, how it shows her growing and changing. Yael’s determination to make things right for her family and the people who helped shape her is so admirable. This is a beautiful character who has faced pain and loss and comes out stronger in the end. Yeet she never forgets, she carries the loss with her and uses it to strengthen herself. What I love even more about Yael is that after all she has been through, she is reluctant to take a life. She wants to complete her mission with as few casualties as possible. Yael has faced so much loss, and knows that she will possibly face more in the future, but it has not destroyed her conscience. It tears her up inside when she accidentally causes the death of another racer. I love that Yael is still has caring for others, that her hardship hasn’t turned her cruel.

This entire novel entrapped me from beginning to end. I was caught up in Yael’s journey during the race. The bonds she forms with Adele’s brother and ex-lover while she was disguised as Adele was one of my favorite parts of the novel. Her struggle to keep up the guise of being Adele while facing people who knew Adele so well was brilliant. I loved reading about Yael tackling every bump in the road head on. I feel like she is the type of character we should all wish to be like. Still kind even though she was faced loss, determined, and brave.

I would recommend Wolf by Wolf to anyone looking for a unique book that is fast paced and full of adventure. I am so glad to finally be out of my reading slump. Hopefully I’ll make my goal for this month. Happy reading to you all! 😄

One thought on “Kaya Reviews: Wolf by Wolf

Leave a Reply

