February Wrap Up and March TBR

I feel like 2017 has been the year of horrible reading slumps. My life has been busy, my job has been insane, and school just wipes me out. Adulting is ruining my life and I hate it. The few books I did read this month were amazing though. I just wish I had read more.

I did manage to finish Windwitch, during the last week of the month, even though it was the first book I started in March. I really loved Windwitch, but for some reason I couldn’t get into this novel. I kept having to take breaks to read other novels. To be honest with myself, I’m proud I managed to finish Windwitch as it was one of the few books I read this month. I highly recommend Truthwitch and Windwitch to anyone who is a fan of fantasy novels. I was hooked through most of the series.

Besides Windwitch I started to read an old favorite series of mine that never fails to end reading slumps…. except for this one. I started re-reading The Heroes of Olympus series. These books bring me back to my younger days when I was carefree and had hours to read. I have so much love for Rick Riordan’s characters, they bring me back to afternoons I spent reading with my younger brother. We used to take turns reading chapters to each other and making up funny voices for the characters. The books are just so nostalgic for me, I love every minute of them.

My short break back into the world of Percy Jackson did motivate me to read more in my down time. I picked up Wintersong next, and as we know, I had mixed emotions about this novel. I equal parts loved and loathed it. I wish I had loved it completely, but I can’t say that I did. I loved the concept of the novel which is what kept me hooked and reading, but it took me longer to read than I wanted it to. That did set me back in my reading goal for the month.

The next book I read was A Conjuring of Light, the conclusion to one of my favorite series ever. I sat in the window staring at the driveway waiting for the mailman to bring me this book. I was so excited. The second I got my hands on A Conjuring of Light I sat down and read it in a day. Once again, I highly recommend this series to anyone who is fond of fantasy. V. E. Schwab builds a beautiful vibrant world and characters that steal your heart. A Conjuring of Light is my favorite novel I read this month. It’s my number one book of the year so far. I cannot gush enough about this series. I could talk forever about how much I love them, start to finish.

The last book I read this month was Caraval, and all I have to say is wow. I loved this book too. The world, the characters, the concept. I was hooked from the beginning. If you were a fan of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern then I definitely recommend that you go pick up a copy of Caraval. This book was magical and gripping. I was sucked into a world of mystery and magic. Caraval was vibrant and beautiful. I do not have a single complaint about this book. Maybe it will break my book slump.

Once again I have to state that I never stick to a to be read list. It is a horrible habit of mine. I normally read whatever strikes my fancy at the time. However there are a few books that I definitely want to read this month. I’ve already started reading Wolf by Wolf, which will be the first book of the month. Without further ado, here a a few of the other books I’m planning to read.

March To Be Read

Daughter of the Pirate King by  Tricia Levenseller

Wayfarer y Alexandra Bracken

The Song Rising By Samantha Shannon

Norse Gods By Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

