Kaya Talks

I didn’t read nearly as much as I had hoped I would in January. Life just gets really busy sometimes and spirals out of control. I also ran into a horrible reading slump in the middle of the month that really slowed me down.

I started out the year finishing up the Mara Dyer Trilogy, which I loved so much. I discussed these books in a previous review and how much I enjoyed the series as a whole. It was the perfect start to my reading year, I breezed through the Mara Dyer Trilogy.

My second read of the year, and one of my all time favorite books, was Titans by Victoria Scott. I loved this Titans. I suppose it spoke to me as someone who grew up with horses, racing, and the draw of the speed and danger of horse racing. I read Titans in one sitting and I will never regret doing so. This book jumped up my list of all time favorite books, it’s right up there with Six of Crows and The Raven Boys in my opinion. Unfortunately, in the way that many great books do, it sent me spinning into a reading slump.

I didn’t read much of anything until the end of the month. The book that finally pulled me out of my slump was Vinyl by Sophia Elaine Hanson. I went into Vinyl expecting it to be just like every other Dystopian novel I’ve ever read, and was pleasantly surprised to find out how much I enjoyed it. Vinyl is similar to the other Dystopian novels out there. Dystopian fiction is hard to make completely unique,the Dystopian genre has a baseline plot already associated with the story line; dictating government, oppressed lower class, untouchable upper class, and a rebel movement. Vinyl was riveting though, there were themes in the novel that made it unique and gripping. Once I got into the novel I couldn’t put it down. I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a good Dystopian read.

Shortly after I finished Vinyl I jumped into The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis and all I can saw is, wow. This book shook me so much, it broke my heart in a million places and left me bawling my eyes out at four in the morning. I wrote a stunning review for this novel as well. I found it unique and almost unconventional in many parts of the voel. This book challenges the guidelines that society sets for us in a beautiful way. I will carry The Female of the Species with me forever. It has a special place in my heart.

I finished off my reading month with Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. It took me an embarrassing long time to get into this novel. I spent almost two weeks trying to get through the first half. After that though, I sat down and finished in an afternoon. Truthwitch was the perfect high fantasy novel to end my month with. It left me craving adventure and ready to dive into Windwitch to kick off February.

Now, I try and make a TBR pile for every month, but I fail to stick with my list. I can give you a quick guideline of what I’m hoping to read this month. I cannot make any promises though. Happy reading to you all!

February TBR 

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

 

Leave a Reply

