Kaya Reviews: The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

It seems like I’m never going to read a book I dislike in 2017. The Female of the Species, however, stole my heart and then ripped it into a million tiny pieces. I feel like this is one of those books that everyone should read at least once. I would hand this book to a stranger on the street and tell them to read it. I’m not going into very much detail about the plot because I don’t want to spoil the book for anyone who hasn’t read it. Please, go pick up this book and read it ASAP.

Synopsis

Alex Craft knows how to kill someone. And she doesn’t feel bad about it. When her older sister, Anna, was murdered three years ago and the killer walked free, Alex uncaged the language she knows best. The language of violence.

 

While her crime goes unpunished, Alex knows she can’t be trusted among other people, even in her small hometown. She relegates herself to the shadows, a girl who goes unseen in plain sight, unremarkable in the high school hallways.

 

But Jack Fisher sees her. He’s the guy all other guys want to be: the star athlete gunning for valedictorian with the prom queen on his arm. Guilt over the role he played the night Anna’s body was discovered hasn’t let him forget Alex over the years, and now her green eyes amid a constellation of freckles have his attention. He doesn’t want to only see Alex Craft; he wants to know her.

 

So does Peekay, the preacher’s kid, a girl whose identity is entangled with her dad’s job, though that does not stop her from knowing the taste of beer or missing the touch of her ex-boyfriend. When Peekay and Alex start working together at the animal shelter, a friendship forms and Alex’s protective nature extends to more than just the dogs and cats they care for.

 

Circumstances bring Alex, Jack, and Peekay together as their senior year unfolds. While partying one night, Alex’s darker nature breaks out, setting the teens on a collision course that will change their lives forever.

My Review

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 out of 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars

The Female of the Species is a book that tackles topics face every day in a unconventional, but brilliant manner. The baseline plot of this novel is one I’ve read about a million time; the quiet girl falls for the jock, the slut gets in the way, and the myriad of side characters and the high school problems they face everyday, which seem almost trivial.

It’s not like that at all though, the quiet girl has dark secrets. Alex Craft has done what I think we all would fantasize about doing, she killed the man who murdered her sister. When the legal system failed her, she did what I think we all would like to believe we would do. I mean, I know that every time I think about someone hurting my siblings I lose my mind. If it came down to it I doubt I could kill a man though. Mindy McGinnis creates a character that is the girl all of us really want to be, deep down, the warrior woman we all should want to embody. Alex Craft is a brilliantly written character. She stands up for her fellow women, pointing out that the male is normally at fault and the backlash lands on the female. She stands up for her friends, protecting them to the point of violence. Alex is a character that I feel portrays what our  base instinct is in facing the situations she faced, she is raw and cold. I love this character so much, I love what she faced and how she handled herself. I love how Alex is written to combat societies standards.

Mindy McGinnis creates a wonderfully dark plot to place her characters into. The plot of The Female of the Species is gritty and raw, McGinnis writes about issues that students face in a gritty, unorthodox manner. She writes about female characters supporting each other instead of tearing each other down over the boys. The character that is normally characterized as “the slut” is not hated by everyone, she is supported by other females in the community. She helps other females in the community. This book has so many points in which the females lift each other up, it warmed my heart. The friendships that are formed, the bonds that are built. It all made the novel all the more enjoyable.

 

If you haven’t read this book yet I sincerely hope you do. I cannot sum up all the emotions reading it gave me. The twist at the end will leave you heartbroken and sobbing. I am fully in love with this novel.

Leave a Reply

