My Top Books of 2016

I know that we’re all ready to be done with 2016, I know I am. It’s been a roller coaster of up and down for almost everyone; but we all have to admit that 2016 has given us some amazing books, and considering that tomorrow is New Year’s Eve I think it’s appropriate to make my first blog post about my favorite books of 2016. Without further ado!

1.) Nevernight by Jay Kristoff: Without a doubt Nevernight stole my heart from the first pages. The cover itself is so beautiful I could justify buying Nevernight on that alone. Everything about Nevernight pulled me in once I started the book itself. The writing was beautiful and descriptive, Jay really succeeded in pulling me into the Nevernight world. I loved how the book was gritty and dark while including hints of romance. Nevernight is a perfect book for fantasy lovers.

2.) Six of Crows & Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: If I’m being perfectly honest with you, I was never a fan of Leigh Bardugo’s first trilogy; but this duology will forever be one of my favorite series. Once again I was in love with the gritty, darker elements of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. The characters in these books were also so well written and diverse. The bond between all of the characters and how fiercely they defend each other filled me with so much joy while I was reading these books. Full of adventure, crime, and suspense, Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom make a beautiful series.

3.) Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter: I’ve always been a fan of fairy tale retellings, and Vassa in the Night is one of the best retellings I’ve ever read.  Vassa in the Night takes a new spin on retelling fairy tales with a modern spin. The writing is intriguing and beautifully crafted. I read Vassa in the Night cover to cover in one night. It’s one of those books that grips you and doesn’t let go until you have finished.

4.) The Graces by Laure Eve: Books about Witchcraft have always gripped me as well. I can never turn down a good book about black magic. The Graces gave me that along with suspense, secrets, and betrayal. I gripped this book cover to cover as well. I loved how this book really connects with the concerns of high school students without overpowering it with magic and fantasy. It felt close to life for me. This is a “stay awake until four in the morning to finish” book.

5.) And I Darken by Kiersten White: What I truly love about And I Darken is that the main female character, Lada, is not your typical female protagonist. That, on top of a action packed and wonderful plot, sold me on this book. I was also sold when romance was not a key point in this book as well. I enjoy how this book is more historical fiction than fantasy. It was a nice change of pace from what I normally read. And I Darken is a unique book in the YA genera and I cannot wait to read the sequel in 2017.

6.) Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven: As someone who reads very few contemporary novels I was pleasantly surprised with how much I loved Holding Up the Universe. I loved the themes in this novel as well and how it did not follow many of the YA cliques. Holding Up the Universe is beautifully written and discusses issues that high school students face. This book tackles body positivity in one of the greatest ways ever and shows that you don’t have to change drastically to love your body. Holding up the Universe is unique and brilliant. I truly believe that everyone should read this book just to experience the beautiful message it carries. ❤

So those are my top six books of 2016. Here’s to another year and many more great books to come. 🍸

 

Leave a Reply

